---
sourceDocument: Yokohama Build or modify applications
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/yokohama/application-development

 Release :

    - yokohama

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Yokohama Build or modify applications

ft:clusterId :

    - cadev

bundleId :

    - cadev

workflow :

    - Development, Data, and Analytics


---

# Back out an update set

# Back out an update set {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Yokohama
* 
* Updated January 30, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 2 minutes to read

You can back out changes to existing records for any committed update
set.

## Before you begin

Role required: admin

## About this task

Backing out an update set creates delete updates in the current update
set. If you commit, back out, and then reapply a remote update set, errors appear in
the previewer because the deleted updates are considered more recent changes and
cause collisions.  
Warning:  
Do not back out the Default update set. This action can damage the configuration of the instance.  
The back out process reverses both record-level updates and changes to the dictionary. Some changes caused by a back-out can result in data loss. These are the expected results of the back-out process:{#t_BackOutUpdateSet__table_ed2_z1d_zq__entry__2}

| Customer Update | Result of the back out action |
|-|-|
| A new table | The table is dropped from the database, deleting any data from it. |
| A new field | The field is dropped from the database, deleting any data from it. |
| A deleted field | The field is restored to the database, but the original data is lost. |
| A resized field | The field resize is reversed. If the field has been increased, data is truncated first to avoid errors. |
| A configured form | The form is reverted to its previous state. |
| A record is inserted | The record is deleted. (See Note below) |
| A record is deleted | The record is restored with its original data. |
[ ]

{#t_BackOutUpdateSet__table_ed2_z1d_zq}  
Warning:  
Backing out an update set that belongs to an update set batch may affect other update sets in the batch. For more information, see [Back out batched update set](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/c~3WJkDBQDudWvveF9e07Q#us-batch-backout "Back out a batched update set by following the backout procedure for the base update set for the batch. You can also back out any child update set independently.").  
* If the sys_package is global, it is deleted.
* If the sys_package is not global, and it has a value, a warning displays that there is no deletion. Rather, the sys_update_xml is put into the default update set and the record is left in place.
{#t_BackOutUpdateSet__ul_dpp_rm1_bpb}

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSystem Update SetsLocal Update Sets.
2. Open the update set record.  
   Make sure it is complete and a date is set on the Release date field.  
   Note:  
   The currently selected application affects what options are available for the update set. Make sure you select the application, such as Global, that matches the contents of the update set.
3. Carefully review the contents of the update set and consider whether there will be problems if it is backed out.  
   If backing out an update set is not sufficient or will cause issues, then, instead, create and commit a new update set to reverse the customizations.
4. Click Back Out.  
   A Progress page displays actions, progress, and problems. Problems are changes in more recent update sets that affect the update set that is being backed out. The backout preview process generates a warning for each problem.
5. Resolve each problem before proceeding with the back out.  
   * To keep the latest version, click Decide to Keep Current.
   * To back out to the previous version, click Decide to Use Previous.
   {#t_BackOutUpdateSet__ul_dwb_qwx_yq}  
   All changes are reversed as described in the table. The current update set
   tracks all of the new changes that occur.

   The update set and all associated update records are deleted. If needed, you
   can still navigate to the retrieved update set, preview it, and commit it
   again.  
   Note:  
   If you commit, back out, and then reapply a remote update set, errors appear in the previewer because backing out an update set creates delete updates in the current update set. The deletes are considered more recent changes and cause collisions.
{#t_BackOutUpdateSet__steps_qqb_jj5_qv}

*[\>]: and then


