---
sourceDocument: Yokohama Build or modify applications
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/yokohama/application-development

 Release :

    - yokohama

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Yokohama Build or modify applications

ft:clusterId :

    - cadev

bundleId :

    - cadev

workflow :

    - Development, Data, and Analytics


---

# Cautions about deleting update sets

# Cautions about deleting update sets {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Yokohama
* 
* Updated January 30, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Deleting an update set is a bad practice. To revert a customization, back out the update set rather than deleting it.
Administrators can delete an update set only when it is not the current update set and it is empty (no `sys_update_xml` entries are associated with it). For example, after merging update sets, you might want to
delete the original sets. This function is restricted by an access control rule (ACL) on the Update Set \[sys_update_set\] table.  
Do not delete `sys_update_xml` entries, because this action:

* Does not undo the updates.
* Removes any record of who applied the customizations.
* Removes the `sys_update_xml` entries associated with the update set, so customizations are overwritten when the instance is upgraded.
{#delete-update-set-cautions__ul_bc5_gfd_zq}

When you try to delete an update entry, a warning message appears. Click OK to confirm the deletion.

