---
sourceDocument: Yokohama Build or modify applications
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/yokohama/application-development

 Release :

    - yokohama

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Yokohama Build or modify applications

ft:clusterId :

    - cadev

bundleId :

    - cadev

workflow :

    - Development, Data, and Analytics


---

# Synchronize the current project between a Visual Studio Code workspace and a ServiceNow instance

# Synchronize the current project between a Visual Studio Code workspace and
a ServiceNow instance {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Yokohama
* 
* Updated January 30, 2025
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 2 minutes to read

Synchronize files between the Visual Studio Code workspace
(client/local) and the instance (server) bi-directionally.

## Before you begin

[Create your
project](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/w6io3108SzRag0357n6hrA "ServiceNow applications are contained within a project in the VS Code IDE. Import an application from your ServiceNow instance with the help of ServiceNow Extensions for VS Code.")and start editing your applications.

## About this task

The changes made to the application files in the Visual Studio Code
workspace are initially stored in the local file system. When you run the
Sync command, the local changes made to the application
files are sent to the server for persistence.

## Procedure

1. Click Sync on the status bar on the bottom of the Visual Studio Code IDE.  
   You can also use a keyboard shortcut, Control+Shift+P on Windows or Command+Shift+P on MacOS, to open the command palette and choose Now: Sync Current Project from the list.  
   Figure 1. Sync current project
   * If the changes occur either on the server or on the client, the extension synchronizes the file successfully without showing up any errors.
   * If there are no differences between local and server versions, then the message No changes detected appears on the bottom of the page.
   * If the same file is modified both on client and server, then the system shows up the conflicts.
   {#synchronize-files__ul_x5g_pcl_pkb}
2. If a conflict list is displayed, right-click on the conflicting file to open the context menu and select from the context menu.  
   Alternatively, select the file and click Open Diff menu from the top of the page.Figure 2. Conflicting files display
   * Choose Override Server if you want to overwrite the server version with the client version
   * Choose Override Local to overwrite the client version with the server version.
   * Choose Mark as resolved to remove the flag indicating a conflict. The server version will be overwritten in the next synchronization.

   {#synchronize-files__ul_vvj_bdl_pkb}Figure 3. Differences in client and server versions
3. Retain the desired changes in the client file and save.
4. Once you have resolved all file conflicts, click Mark as Resolved under Conflicting Files.  
   The changes are synchronized on the next sync. When the changes are merged successfully, the message Sync completed successfully appears in the bottom of the page.  
   Note:  
   The files are checked for syntax errors at the beginning of synchronization process. Any errors found are presented in the problem tab at the bottom of the screen.

## What to do next

All the changes are tagged to the update set in the status bar. When a project is loaded or selected, the default update set is displayed in the status bar. Click the update set picker to choose the current update set (valid until the IDE or project is closed). If you do not explicitly select an update set, all writes happen to the default update set.

