---
sourceDocument: Xanadu ServiceNow AI Platform Administration
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/xanadu/platform-administration

 Release :

    - xanadu

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Xanadu ServiceNow AI Platform Administration

ft:clusterId :

    - platadm

bundleId :

    - platadm

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations

# Roll back patch upgrades or plugin activations {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Xanadu
* 
* Updated August 1, 2024
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Use the Rollback Contexts module to roll back patch upgrades
and plugin activations.

## Before you begin

Role required: admin

Review this information and requirements before performing rollback:  
* Rolling back is possible only between patches in the same software release. For example, Rolling back is possible from Orlando patch 2 to patch 1, but not from Orlando to New York.
* The rollback must be done within 10 days of the most recent upgrade or plugin activation. If you need to retain a rollback context for more than 10 days, you can do so by adding a system property. See [Rollback context properties](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/WTTfEi69abu3K4z~JBcjBA "Change the default expiration period for different types of rollback context records.").
* You can only roll back to the previous version. For example, rolling back
  from patch 3 to patch 1 requires two rollbacks.

* You must have the Restore Deleted Records (com.snc.undelete) and Delete Recovery (com.glide.delete_recovery) plugins activated.
* You can only roll back one active instance at a time. Rolling back
  contexts on multiple nodes is not supported.

* A rollback deletes data and may remove evidence of an upgrade or activation record, which makes it difficult to debug the problem that made the rollback necessary.
* To roll back to a patch version before the Assigned WAR, submit a request for Customer Service and Support to do the rollback.
{#roll-back-rollback-context__ul_shj_l42_rfb}

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllRollback \& RecoveryRollback Contexts.
2. Select the context that you want to rollback.
3. Roll back by selecting the Rollback related link.
4. Confirm the rollback.  
   An indicator appears showing the progress of the rollback. glide.war updates to the rolled-back version. The log shows the stages of the rollback process.
5. After the rollback is complete, log out of your instance and log back in again.
6. Open a new tab and see if the context state changed to Rolled back.  
   If not, contact Customer Service and Support.

*[\>]: and then


