---
sourceDocument: Xanadu Platform Analytics
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/xanadu/now-intelligence

 Release :

    - xanadu

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Xanadu Platform Analytics

ft:clusterId :

    - par

bundleId :

    - par

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Manage responsive dashboards

# Manage responsive dashboards {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Xanadu
* 
* Updated August 1, 2024
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 4 minutes to read

Depending upon their role, users can delete or duplicate responsive dashboards, and
remove a user from a dashboard. All users can mark a dashboard as a favorite.

## Delete a responsive dashboard {#ariaid-title2}

Delete dashboards that are no longer used. Deleted dashboards cannot be
restored.

### Before you begin

Role required: dashboard_admin or admin, or be the owner of the dashboard.

Inform any users that you have shared the dashboard with that you are deleting it.
Users may have bookmarked the dashboard or marked it as a favorite. Those users see
an error when they try to access a deleted dashboard.  
Note:  
This topic refers to Dashboards in the Core UI. If your instance is migrated to Platform Analytics experience, see [Delete a Platform Analytics dashboard](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/7mCwq8xsVF0alA8sARKfrg "You can delete a dashboard that is no longer useful. The Analytics Center invokes the Workflow Studio to remove the dashboard from your instance.").

### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. Select the dashboard that you want to delete.
3. Click the context menu (![Context menu icon]()) and choose Delete Dashboard.
{#t_DeleteADashboard__steps_hld_znn_1x}

### Result

When you delete a dashboard, dashboard tabs that are not used on other dashboards are deleted.

### Delete a dashboard tab {#ariaid-title3}

When dashboard tabs are no longer useful, it is possible to delete them.

#### Before you begin

Role required: dashboard_admin or admin. If you are the owner of the dashboard or
otherwise have edit rights on the dashboard, you can also delete a dashboard
tab.

#### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. Select the dashboard containing the tab that you want to delete.
3. To delete a dashboard tab, point to the tab and click the trash icon.

#### Result

When you delete a dashboard tab, it is removed from the dashboard. If it is not used in any other dashboard, it is deleted entirely.

## Copy a responsive dashboard {#ariaid-title4}

When you duplicate a responsive dashboard, its widget layout is preserved. However,
sharing permissions aren't preserved. Changes you make to the duplicated dashboard don't
affect the original dashboard.

### Before you begin

Note:  
This topic refers to Dashboards in the Core UI. If your instance is migrated to Platform Analytics experience, see [Duplicate a Platform Analytics dashboard](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/S71SSzIz4bGXe3IR6w0YsQ "Duplicate a dashboard created in the inline editor so that you can share a modified version with different users.").

To copy a dashboard related to an Platform Analytics Solution, see [Duplicate an Analytics and Reporting Solution dashboard](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/A~2tfPTXOtgAXJXJFE9QhA "Copy an Platform Analytics Solution dashboard, including the tabs, portal pages, and canvas records. Widgets on the dashboard are not duplicated.").

Role required: Any user who can share a dashboard can copy it.

### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. Select the dashboard that you want to duplicate.
3. Select the context menu (![Context menu icon]()) and select Duplicate Dashboard.  
   A copy of the dashboard is created with you as the owner. The name of the copy is Copy of \[Original Dashboard Name\].
4. **Optional:** To rename the dashboard, click the context menu (![Context menu icon]()), select Dashboard Properties, and edit the Name field.
{#duplicate-a-dashboard__steps_a1q_tnt_hs}

### Result

A copy of the dashboard is created with you as the owner.

### What to do next

Modify the dashboard and then share it with other users.

## Rename a responsive dashboard {#ariaid-title5}

Provide a more useful name for your dashboard by renaming it.

### Before you begin

Role required: Users can edit dashboards that they own, or ones that they have the right to edit. See [Dashboard permissions](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/8pSPmV8WVRk~rtw_V3QpjA "Dashboards have special granular view and edit permissions that are managed from the Sharing pane. Access control lists (ACLs) apply to most widgets that are added to dashboards.") for more information about viewing and editing rights on dashboards.

### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. From the dashboard picker, select the dashboard that you want to rename.
3. From the context menu (![]()), select Dashboard Properties.
4. In the name field, enter the new name for the dashboard.
5. Select Update.  
   Note:  
   The Owner field is required. If this field is empty, provide the name of the dashboard's owner to complete this task.

## Remove a user from a dashboard {#ariaid-title6}

When you no longer want to share a dashboard with specific users, groups, or roles,
you can remove their access to the dashboard.

### Before you begin

Role required: Any dashboard owner can remove users or groups from dashboards they
own.

Users with the dashboard_admin or admin role can remove users, groups, or roles from
any dashboard.

Users with the pa_admin or pa_power_user role can remove users, groups, or roles from
any dashboard that they can edit. These dashboards include dashboards that a user
owns, and dashboards to which they have been granted edit rights.

For more information, see [Dashboard permissions](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/8pSPmV8WVRk~rtw_V3QpjA "Dashboards have special granular view and edit permissions that are managed from the Sharing pane. Access control lists (ACLs) apply to most widgets that are added to dashboards.").

### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. Select the dashboard that you want to modify.
3. Select the sharing icon (![]()).
4. In the Share panel, select the X next to the name of the user, group, or role that you want to remove.  

### Result

The removed users no longer have the right to view the shared dashboard.
**Related tasks**   

* [Restrict responsive dashboard access to specific roles](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/XrBgU7UaSgE7IP5KdURVoQ "Specify additional roles required to access the dashboard when you share a dashboard with specified users, groups, and roles. Only users who the dashboard has been shared with and who have one of the specified roles are able to access the dashboard.")

## Mark a responsive dashboard as a favorite {#ariaid-title7}

You can mark a dashboard as a favorite to access it easily from the navigation
pane.

### Before you begin

Anyone who can access a dashboard can make it a favorite.

Role required: none

### Procedure

1. Navigate to AllSelf-ServiceDashboards or AllPerformance AnalyticsDashboards.
2. From the dashboard picker, select the dashboard that you want to mark as a favorite.
3. Select the context menu (![]()) and select Create Favorite.
{#favorite-a-dashboard__steps_a1q_tnt_hs}

### Result

Favorite dashboards appear in the favorites tab of the application navigator.

*[\>]: and then


