---
sourceDocument: Australia ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/de-DE/servicenow-platform

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - de-DE

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia ServiceNow AI Platform Capabilities

ft:clusterId :

    - platcap

bundleId :

    - platcap

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Publish a custom workflow activity

# Publish a custom workflow activity {#c_PublishCustomActivities__r4z_pjs_3x}

* Freigeben Version: Australia
* 
* Aktualisiert 12. März 2026
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 Minute Lesedauer

When a user creates a custom activity and saves or submits it, that activity appears in
the Custom and Packs tabs of the designer palette,
but is only visible to the user who created it.

When configuration is complete, the user clicks Publish, which makes the
activity accessible to other users on the instance with the workflow_admin or activity_creator
role. Published activities are available for upload to the ServiceNow Store, can be added to workflows,
and can be edited by any user with the proper roles.

To edit a published activity, click Checkout. When an activity is
checked out by a user, only that user can modify it. The fields of a checked out activity are
read-only for all other users. When the checked out activity has been modified successfully, the
user publishes it again. The system adds a new version of this activity to the Custom tab in the
Workflow Editor palette.  
Hinweis:  
Activities you create and publish are only visible in the Packs tab if they were created in the current application scope.

## Locked versions

Problems can arise if an activity version is checked out by a user and not checked back in,
for example, when the user is sick or leaves the company. An activity in this state cannot be
checked out for update.

A user with the admin role can return a locked activity to a published state. The
administrator opens the locked activity from the Custom tab of the
Workflow Editor, selects the checked-out version, and selects Force Checkout, and then Publish.

