---
sourceDocument: Australia Platform security
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/de-DE/platform-security

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - de-DE

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia Platform security

ft:clusterId :

    - psec

bundleId :

    - psec

workflow :

    - Platform


---

# Setup your audit retention

# Setup your audit retention {#ariaid-title1}

* Freigeben Version: Australia
* 
* Aktualisiert 12. März 2026
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 Minute Lesedauer

Use the Retention option to automate and simplify the deletion of audit data as per your requirement.

## Vorbereitungen

Role required: security_admin

## Prozedur

1. Navigate to AllAudit Management Console.
2. Select the table from the list you want to update the retention policy.  
   Hinweis:  
   By default, you land on the Columns tab at the end of this step.
3. Select the Retention tab to update the retention policy for the selected table audit data.  
   A modal showing the retention option shows up.
4. Enable the Automatically Purge Audit Records toggle.
5. Select the duration from the Duration dropdown menu.  
   Select Yes if you want to proceed with the selected duration. You can also select Cancel if you want to select a different duration.  
   Hinweis:  
   Logs older than your set duration will be purged and can't be restored.  
   The Retention Policy modal shows up confirming the selected duration.
6. Select Generate Estimate to view the approximate number of audit records that are older than your selected duration.  
   For information about generate estimate, see [Enable an audit deletion estimate](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/T6KopnRLoB2727pKKWdAzA "Enable the audit deletion estimation feature that calculates the approximate number of records that will be deleted based on retention policies. This information helps you make an informed decision before applying a retention policy, which permanently deletes audit data and cannot be reversed.")
7. Select Save to update the retention policy for the selected table.
8. **Wahlweise:** To disable deletion of Audit records of a table, disable the Automatically Purge Audit Records toggle and select Save.  
   Hinweis:  
   The audit records that were previously deleted due to the selected retention duration are permanently unavailable.

