---
sourceDocument: Australia Build workflows
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/build-workflows

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia Build workflows

ft:clusterId :

    - crworkflow

bundleId :

    - crworkflow

workflow :

    - Creator


---

# Save as you go flows

# Save as you go flows {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Australia
* 
* Updated March 12, 2026
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Save flows, subflows, and actions automatically as you work on them.

As of the Zurich release, Workflow Studio no longer displays a Save button in the header of the editor canvas while you edit a flow, subflow, or action. Rather than manually saving, Workflow Studio automatically saves your work as you make changes.

## When Workflow Studio automatically saves flows {#save-as-you-go-flows__section_a4c_4xs_b1c}

While editing a flow, your changes are automatically saved each time you perform one of these operations.

* Activate a flow.
* Add a flow step.
* Deactivate a flow.
* Delete a flow step.
* Move a flow step to a new position.
* Select a data pill from the Data pane or the data pill picker.
* Select the Done option to finish configuring a flow step.
* Select either the Undo last action or Redo last action options.
{#save-as-you-go-flows__ul_rkp_3zs_b1c}

## Manually saving a flow {#save-as-you-go-flows__section_khg_qjt_b1c}

You can manually save a flow at any time with the Force save option available from the More actions menu. This option provides a backup in case the automatic save isn't working for some reason. The option to save a flow requires
that you first have edit rights to the flow.  
Figure 1. Force save option

## Last saved indicator {#save-as-you-go-flows__section_gdb_zdt_b1c}

Workflow Studio displays the last saved icon after saving a flow ![Auto save icon](). Select or point to the last saved icon to display the duration or date since the flow was last saved.  
Figure 2. Example last saved date

## Read-only flow interactions {#save-as-you-go-flows__section_bk1_wxs_b1c}

You can't save a flow that you don't have edit rights to. Make sure to save your work while you're editing a flow. To avoid losing changes to the editing time-out value, perform any of the operations that trigger automatically
saving the flow. For more information about when flows are in a read-only state, see [Default read-only flows](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/iRcaQiW6AnunStcMFUvvyg "Open existing flows in a read-only state to protect them from accidental changes. While a flow is in a read-only state, you can only review, test, deactivate, or request to edit it.").
* **[Restore save as you go functionality](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/xmGjM6zwC2ruxaQ2~VOsug)**   
  Restore save as you go functionality that was disabled in the Washington DC release.

