---
sourceDocument: Australia Build workflows
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/build-workflows

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia Build workflows

ft:clusterId :

    - crworkflow

bundleId :

    - crworkflow

workflow :

    - Creator


---

# Default read-only flows

# Default read-only flows {#ariaid-title1}

* Release version: Australia
* 
* Updated March 12, 2026
* 
* ![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read

Open existing flows in a read-only state to protect them from accidental changes. While a flow is in a read-only state, you can only review, test, deactivate, or request to edit it.

## Request to edit flow {#default-read-only-flows__section_hry_ctt_b1c}

As of the Washington DC release, you must request to edit an existing flow before you can change it. If you don't have permission to edit a flow, the Edit flow button remains disabled.  
Figure 1. Edit flow option

When you request to edit a flow, Workflow Studio checks whether another person already has the flow open for edit. If the flow is available for editing, you open the flow in an editable state. If the flow is already being edited, you see a message
displaying the name of the user editing the flow.  
Figure 2. Unable to edit flow message

## Stop editing a flow {#default-read-only-flows__section_sz1_3vt_b1c}

Flows remain in an editable state until one of these events occur.

* You close the Workflow Studio flow tab.
* You close the Workflow Studio browser tab.
* You select the Make flow read only option.
* You remain inactive in the flow for more than 30 minutes.
{#default-read-only-flows__ul_ack_qnt_b1c}

When you're done editing a flow, you can make it read only so that other people can edit it. You can use the Make flow read only option to stop editing a flow.  
Figure 3. Make flow read-only option

