---
sourceDocument: Australia Build or modify applications
sourceDocumentLink: https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/r/application-development

 Release :

    - australia

ft:locale :

    - en-US

ft:publication_title :

    - Australia Build or modify applications

ft:clusterId :

    - cadev

bundleId :

    - cadev

workflow :

    - Development, Data, and Analytics


---

# Modify or customize collaboration permissions

# Modify or customize collaboration permissions for a user or group in ServiceNow Studio {#ariaid-title1}

Release version: Australia  
Updated May 8, 2026  
![](https://www.servicenow.com/docs/portal-asset/ico-clock) 1 minute to read  
Modify or customize the collaboration permissions for a user or group in ServiceNow Studio to control what they can do in an app.

## Before you begin

Customers that don't have Collaboration installed will not be able to manage delegated development permissions in ServiceNow Studio. Existing delegated development permissions will still be respected within ServiceNow Studio.

Role required: admin or delegated_developer

## Procedure

1. Navigate to AllApp EngineServiceNow Studio.
2. Select the app you want to modify collaborators for, then select App details.
3. Access collaboration settings by selecting the more options icon ![]() and selecting Invite.  
4. In the Collaborators section of the Collaborate with others dialog, select the new permission level for the user or group.
5. **Optional:** To create custom permissions for the collaborator, select Customize permissions for the user or group in the Collaborators section.
   1. Select Customize permissions for the user or group.  
   2. Select the permissions you want the user or group to have.  
      For more information about permissions, see [Collaboration permissions for ServiceNow Studio](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/CM7auEBQpC2gIQCy7RIeMw "Collaboration permissions determine what delegated developers can do when working on an app in ServiceNow Studio. Admins or app owners set these permissions.").Figure 1. Customize collaboration permissions
   3. Select Save.
   {#modify-collab-descriptor-servicenow-studio__substeps_bvh_d1c_mcc}

## Result

Changes are saved automatically when you close the Collaborate with others dialog.

## What to do next

Your App Engine admin must approve the changes to collaborators. For more information, see [Approve a collaboration request](https://servicenow-prod.fluidtopics.net/VeNoN9gaJMBgSX4YoGnjYw "Admins and App Engine admin can review and approve (or reject) people's requests to join an app's development in Creator Studio.").

*[\>]: and then


